Triumph Bike

Triumph Street Triple R

The 2020 India listing of Triumph’s 765cc three-cylinder middleweight: Showa big-piston forks, Brembo radial monobloc calipers and a quickshifter as standard, on the specification table the manufacturer published with its BS-VI launch.

Discontinued in India ₹8.84 lakh Last known · historical price
Last known price
₹8.84 lakh
Historical · India ex-showroom
Mileage
19.6 kmpl
Engine
765 cc
Power
118 PS
Torque
79 Nm
Seat height
825 mm
Fuel
Petrol
Gearbox
Manual
Compare Price Specs

Price and availability

Discontinued in India · last known ex-showroom price

₹8.84 lakh

India · historical

Launched August 2020

Triumph Street Triple R variant prices

Variant Ex-showroom
Street Triple R petrol manual Quickshifter as standard · Road, Rain and Sport riding modes ₹8.84 lakh

Historical price information; not a current showroom quotation.

Mileage and fuel use

Published mileage

19.6 km/l

Fuel economy varies with traffic, speed, load, road conditions and maintenance. A published figure is not a promise of real-world consumption.

Performance and powertrain

Engine

765 cc · 3 cylinders

Maximum power
118 PS at 12,000 rpm
Maximum torque
79 Nm at 9,350 rpm

Specifications

Engine and performance

Triumph Street Triple R engine and performance
Engine 765 cc, 3-cylinder
Max power 118 PS @ 12,000 rpm
Max torque 79 Nm @ 9,350 rpm
Mileage 19.6 kmpl
Gearbox Manual

Chassis and safety

Triumph Street Triple R chassis and safety
Suspension Showa 41 mm upside-down separate-function big-piston forks (SF-BPF); Showa piggyback reservoir monoshock; both adjustable for preload, compression and rebound
Brakes Twin 310 mm floating discs with Brembo M4.32 four-piston radial monobloc calipers; 220 mm disc with Brembo single-piston caliper; ABS
Tyres Front 120/70 ZR17, rear 180/55 ZR17 on 17 x 3.5 in and 17 x 5.5 in cast alloy wheels; Pirelli Diablo Rosso III
Safety equipment Ride-by-wire with ABS and switchable traction control. Road, Rain and Sport riding modes set the throttle and traction-control maps; Rain restricts peak power to 100 PS. No crash-test programme rates motorcycles of this class, so no score is published

Dimensions

Triumph Street Triple R dimensions
Length 2055 mm
Width 775 mm
Seat height 825 mm
Wheelbase 1405 mm

These figures are transcribed from the specification table Triumph Motorcycles India published with its launch release of 11 August 2020, which states that specifications are as per the ARAI certificate. Fields the manufacturer document does not state are left out of this table rather than estimated.

What to know about the Street Triple R

This record is the Street Triple R as Triumph Motorcycles India specified it at launch on 11 August 2020, and the figures come from the table in that release, which states that specifications are as per the ARAI certificate. It is a 765cc liquid-cooled in-line three with 118 PS at 12,000 rpm and 79 Nm at 9,350 rpm in a six-speed gearbox fitted with Triumph Shift Assist — an up-and-down quickshifter — as standard equipment.

The specification is written around the front end. Showa 41 mm upside-down separate-function big-piston forks and a Showa piggyback reservoir monoshock are listed, both adjustable for preload, compression and rebound, and the braking hardware is twin 310 mm floating discs with Brembo M4.32 four-piston radial monobloc calipers at the front and a 220 mm disc with a Brembo single-piston caliper behind. The frame is an aluminium beam twin-spar front end with a two-piece high-pressure die-cast rear section, driving the rear wheel through a twin-sided cast aluminium swingarm.

What the launch document does not state, this record does not claim. There is no kerb weight and no top speed, because Triumph publishes a dry weight of 168 kg and no maximum-speed figure for this model year; the 19.6 kmpl mileage row is the manufacturer’s 5.1 l/100 km ARAI figure converted, not a measured or reported number. Instruments are the LCD units named in the release, riding modes are Road, Rain and Sport, and the seat height on this listing is 825 mm. The colour names are absent because the India document lists none.

  • 118 PS at 12,000 rpm and 79 Nm at 9,350 rpm on the manufacturer’s BS-VI India specification table
  • Showa 41 mm separate-function big-piston forks and a piggyback reservoir monoshock, both fully adjustable
  • Triumph Shift Assist up-and-down quickshifter listed as standard equipment for this model year

Features

Instrumentation and electronics

  • LCD instrument display
  • Road, Rain and Sport riding modes, selectable while riding
  • Rain mode restricts peak power to 100 PS
  • Ride-by-wire, ABS and switchable traction control
  • Triumph Shift Assist up-and-down quickshifter
  • Twin LED headlights with prominent position lights

Running gear and structure

  • Front aluminium beam twin-spar frame; rear two-piece high-pressure die cast
  • Twin-sided cast aluminium swingarm
  • Wet multi-plate slip-assisted clutch
  • X-ring chain final drive
  • Stainless 3-into-1 exhaust with a low single-sided silencer
  • Multipoint sequential EFI with secondary air injection

Pros and cons

What we like

  • The adjustable Showa big-piston forks, piggyback rear shock and Brembo radial monobloc calipers are on the specification of the only variant this India release names
  • An up-and-down quickshifter is fitted as standard on this model year, alongside a slip-assisted clutch
  • Both peak figures sit in the top half of the tacho — torque at 9,350 rpm and power at 12,000 rpm — so the engine is specified to be worked up the rev range

What we would change

  • Both peaks sit above 9,000 rpm, so riding at low engine speeds is a gearbox exercise rather than a case of torque on tap
  • The 825 mm seat height is the standard specification; Triumph’s lower 780 mm LRH version appears in its global material for this model year, not in this India listing
  • Rain mode restricts output to 100 PS, so the mode for the worst surface removes 18 PS of the headline figure

Our review

Read the full Triumph Street Triple R review

Your shortlist

Compare the Street Triple R

Compare another model

See how the Street Triple R stacks up against related vehicles. Existing MotoSutra comparisons appear first.

From the MotoSutra desk

Latest Triumph Street Triple R coverage

  • Explainer

    What is the difference between HP, BHP and PS?

    One engine, three headline numbers, and none of them is wrong. Where horsepower came from, why the metric PS is a slightly smaller unit than the imperial one, what the brake in brake horsepower actually refers to, and how to read an Indian spec sheet without being fooled by the abbreviation.

    Rahul Singh · Published 23 Sept 2026 · 6 min read
  • Specs & analysis

    Triumph Street Triple R 2020 review: what the India sheet says

    The recovered Street Triple R page, rebuilt on Triumph India’s 2020 launch specification: what the document states, what it omits, and what was removed.

    Rahul Singh · Published 21 Sept 2026 · 5 min read

More from Triumph

Explore the Triumph catalogue and coverage

Used Street Triple R: checks before you buy

This is a general inspection checklist for a used bike; it does not describe known faults specific to this model. Have an independent mechanic inspect the vehicle and verify records before purchase.

  • Ask for dated service invoices and confirm that the VIN and engine number match the registration and insurance documents.
  • Inspect the frame, steering stops, fairings, levers and footpegs for crash damage or mismatched repairs.
  • On a cold start and road test, check engine noise, clutch take-up, every gear, cooling, fork seals, chain and sprockets, brakes, tyres and ABS warning-lamp operation.
  • Verify ownership count, loan closure, insurance validity, outstanding challans and transfer documents before paying.

Frequently asked questions

What is the price of the Street Triple R on this listing?

₹8,84,000, the figure Triumph Motorcycles India announced with this launch release on 11 August 2020, and the price the manufacturer’s India model page still carried in a September 2020 capture. It is a launch price with a date attached, not a current showroom quotation, and the release does not name a city.

Where do the specification figures on this page come from?

From the specification table in Triumph Motorcycles India’s launch release of 11 August 2020, which states that specifications are as per the ARAI certificate. Fields that table does not state are left out of the spec table rather than estimated.

What are the weight and top speed?

The manufacturer document gives a dry weight of 168 kg and a 17.4-litre tank, and publishes no kerb weight and no top speed for this model year, so this record states neither. MotoSutra holds no measured figure either — nothing on this page was tested.

Is the instrument display a TFT?

No. This release describes the Street Triple R’s LCD instruments, with the three riding modes selectable through them. An earlier draft’s version of this page claimed a full-colour TFT display; that claim was removed when the manufacturer document was checked.

Is this the current Street Triple R?

No. This record describes the 2020 model year as launched in India in August 2020 and is marked discontinued in the MotoSutra catalogue, which holds no later model year for the motorcycle. That is a statement about this catalogue, not about Triumph’s current line-up.

Keep reading

Related reading